Yamas and Niyamas

Outlined in the Yoga Sūtras of Patanjali, these vows historically were taken by yoga students in order to guide behavior and support character development.


  1. ahiṃsā: non-harming
  2. satya: truthfulness
  3. asteya: non-stealing
  4. brahmacharya: energy management
  5. aparigraha: non-covetousness


  1. śauca: purity
  2. santoṣa: contentment
  3. tapas: self-discipline
  4. svādhyāya: self-study
  5. īśvarapraṇidhāna: surrender